Coding4Integrity

هاكاثون الشباب الأفريقي لمكافحة الفساد

يبحث مكتب الأمم المتحدة المعني بالمخدرات والجريمة عن المبرمجين الموهوبين لإلهامنا بأفكارهم حول كيفية استخدام التكنولوجيا في مكافحة الفساد وتعزيز السلام والعدالة وتمكين المؤسسات!

آخر موعد للتقديم: 27 سبتمبر 2021

أيام
ساعات
دقيقة
ثواني

حول CODING4INTEGRITY

هاكاثون الشباب الأفريقي لمكافحة الفساد هو تحدي تقني افتراضي مدته 4 أسابيع ينظمه مكتب الأمم المتحدة المعني بالمخدرات والجريمة (UNODC) بالشراكة مع منظمات القطاعين العام والخاص في خمسة بلدان أفريقية، وهي مصر وكينيا ونيجيريا والسنغال وجنوب أفريقيا. تتمثل أهداف الهاكاثون في تعزيز استخدام تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات (ICT) لمنع الفساد ومكافحته في إفريقيا ومنح المطورين الشباب الفرصة لكي يتوصلوا إلى أفكار خاصة بهم حول كيفية مكافحة الفساد عن طريق استخدام التكنولوجيا. كما سيعزز التحدي أيضًا تنفيذ اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الفساد (UNCAC) عن طريق تعزيز الشراكات بين القطاعين العام والخاص في تطوير حلول مستدامة لمكافحة الفساد قائمة على تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات؛ وإشراك الشباب وتشغيلهم؛ والابتكار والتكنولوجيا. ستتاح للفرق الفائزة الفرصة لمواصلة تطوير حلولها التكنولوجية بدعم من شركاء الهاكاثون من القطاع العام الذين يسعون إلى زيادة استخدام حلول تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات كجزء من جهودهم المحلية لمكافحة الفساد.

وبالأخص، يسعى الهاكاثون إلى تحقيق النتائج التالية في البلدان المشاركة:

زيادة المناصرة ومشاركة الشباب في مكافحة الفساد.

زيادة نسبة عمالة الشباب والابتكار والتكنولوجيا.

زيادة الشراكات بين القطاعين العام والخاص.
شراكات

زيادة الكفاءة والفعالية في الإدارة العامة والخدمات العامة.

زيادة الشفافية والمسئولية وسهولة الوصول إلى الخدمات الحكومية والعامة.

المجالات المواضيعية

سيواجه المشاركون في الهاكاثون تحديًا لتطوير فكرة أو حل قائم على تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات يعالج واحدًا أو أكثر من الموضوعات التالية:

الشفافية في الإدارة العامة ، على سبيل المثال ، المدفوعات غير النقدية وإمكانية التتبع.

الشفافية في المشتريات العامة وإدارة الأموال العامة. مع التركيز على قطاع الصحة.

الطرق الآمنة والموثوقة الإبلاغ عن الفساد (تعزيز وحماية المبلغين عن المخالفات)

حلول التحقيق المالي.

المجالات الأخرى ذات الصلة باتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الفساد.

من الذي نبحث عنه؟

الهاكاثون مفتوح للشباب المبدعين الذين:

الجوائز

ستتم دعوة الفرق الفائزة لتقديم مشاريعها وأفكارها إلى مؤتمر الدول الأطراف في اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الفساد (COSP) ، الذي سيعقد في شرم الشيخ ، مصر في ديسمبر 2021. - خبراء الفساد من أكثر من 180 دولة سيشاركون في مؤتمر الدول الأطراف مما سيوفر فرصة عظيمة للفرق الفائزة للترويج والسعي للحصول على مزيد من الدعم لتطوير حلولهم القائمة على تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات.

سيتكلف مكتب الأمم المتحدة المعني بالمخدرات والجريمة بتكاليف السفر والإقامة للفرق الفائزة وفقًا لنظام وقواعد السفر الخاصة بالأمم المتحدة.

كيــف نعــمل ؟

27

September

11

اكتوبر

3

November

8

November

آخر موعد للتقديم

يملأ المشاركون المهتمون استمارة طلب للمشاركة في الهاكاثون في موعد أقصاه 27 سبتمبر.

افتتاح الهاكاثون

افتتاح الهاكاثون الرسمي للترحيب بالمشاركين وجلسة أسئلة وأجوبة مع منظمي الهاكاثون. يبدأ تشكيل الفريق بمساعدة الموجهين.

التقديمات النهائية

ترسل جميع الفرق التقديمات النهائية على منصة التقديم. تقدم الفرق الخاصة بهم :

  • رابط مستودع GitHub للمشروع
  • العرض التقديمي المخطّط للحل المعروض
  • عرض فيديو لمدة 3 دقائق للحل المعروض

اعلان الفائزين

الإعلان عن الفائزين النهائيين ، وحصول جميع المشاركين على شهادات مشاركة.

27

September

آخر موعد للتقديم

يملأ المشاركون المهتمون استمارة طلب للمشاركة في الهاكاثون في موعد أقصاه 27 سبتمبر.

11

اكتوبر

افتتاح الهاكاثون

افتتاح الهاكاثون الرسمي للترحيب بالمشاركين وجلسة أسئلة وأجوبة مع منظمي الهاكاثون. يبدأ تشكيل الفريق بمساعدة الموجهين.

3

November

التقديمات النهائية

ترسل جميع الفرق التقديمات النهائية على منصة التقديم. تقدم الفرق الخاصة بهم :

  • رابط مستودع GitHub للمشروع
  • العرض التقديمي المخطّط للحل المعروض
  • عرض فيديو لمدة 3 دقائق للحل المعروض

8

November

اعلان الفائزين

الإعلان عن الفائزين النهائيين ، وحصول جميع المشاركين على شهادات مشاركة.

خلال فترة الهاكاثون سيتم تنظيم ندوات عبر الإنترنت بخصوص الإرشاد وتطوير المنتج وتطوير الفكرة وندوات تقنية

معايير التحكيم

القضاة والموجهون

شركاؤنا

شركاء التنفيذ الإقليميون

السنغال

كينيا

نيجيريا

مبادرة أصوات الفتاة

جنوب أفريقيا

مُثبَّت على الضرب

مصر

أسئلة مكررة

الهاكاثون مفتوح للشباب المبدعين الذين: تتراوح أعمارهم بين 18 و 35 عامًا ؛ لديهم مهارات البرمجة الأساسية وبعض الخبرة في واحدة أو أكثر من تقنيات التطوير ؛ هم من مواطني مصر وكينيا ونيجيريا والسنغال وجنوب إفريقيا ؛ لديهم معرفة بلغة Java و Javascript و C ++ و Python ؛ يتقن اللغة الإنجليزية. متحمسون لاستخدام مهاراتهم التقنية لتصميم حلول مبتكرة رقميًا لتعزيز النزاهة ومعالجة الفساد في بلدانهم.
يتم تشجيع المرشحات الإناث بشكل خاص على التقدم للاشتراك في الهاكاثون.

يمكن للأفراد أو الفرق حتى 4 أعضاء التقديم. إذا كنت فردًا تبحث عن فريق ، أو فريق يتطلع إلى إكمال المهارات المطلوبة ، فنحن نشجعك على التقديم وسنساعدك في العثور على زملائك في الفريق.

نعم ، سيعقد الهاكاثون في الوضع الافتراضي الكامل بسبب قيود COVID-19.

يجب أن تندرج فكرتك في أحد المجالات المواضيعية الخمسة:

أولاً. الشفافية في الإدارة العامة ، على سبيل المثال ، المدفوعات غير النقدية وإمكانية التتبع.

ثانيا. الشفافية في المشتريات العامة وإدارة الأموال العامة.

ثالثا. الإبلاغ الآمن والموثوق (تعزيز وحماية المبلغين عن المخالفات).

رابعا. حلول التحقيق المالي.

XNUMX. المجالات الأخرى ذات الصلة باتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الفساد: تغطي اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الفساد أربعة مجالات رئيسية ، وهي التدابير الوقائية ، والتجريم وإنفاذ القانون ، والتعاون الدولي ، واسترداد الأصول.

سيعمل كل فريق في أحد المسارات التالية بناءً على نوع التكنولوجيا التي سيعمل عليها الفريق

يزيد:

المسار 1: تطوير Blockchain Dapp

المسار 2: تطوير الذكاء الاصطناعي

المسار 3: تطوير الويب 2.0

الشرط الأساسي للمشاركة في الهاكاثون هو امتلاك بعض مهارات البرمجة الأساسية. لكن لا أحد يتوقع منك أن تكون مبرمجًا متمرسًا من أجل تطوير فكرتك. ومع ذلك ، لإقناع لجنة التحكيم وزيادة فرصك في الفوز بالهاكاثون ، نشجعك على رفع مستوى مهاراتك في البرمجة استعدادًا للهاكاثون. سيسمح لك ذلك بقضاء وقت أقل في الحدث لتعلم كيفية البرمجة (وهو أمر ليس سيئًا ، لأن الهاكاثون يتعلق أيضًا بتعلم أشياء جديدة) ، ولكن بدلاً من ذلك ، سيكون لديك المزيد من الوقت لتطوير أفكارك ومهاراتك. سيكون من المهم بناء المهارات بإحدى لغات البرمجة التالية: Java‏, Javascript, Python or C + +. تشمل اللغات الأخرى الممكنة Go, Rust, Ruby on Rails, Solidity (لتطبيقات blockchain). يتم توفير الموارد في الروابط .

تتمثل أهداف الهاكاثون في تعزيز استخدام تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات (ICT) لمنع الفساد ومكافحته في إفريقيا ومنح المطورين الشباب الفرصة لكي يتوصلوا إلى أفكار خاصة بهم حول كيفية مكافحة الفساد عن طريق استخدام التكنولوجيا. كما سيعزز التحدي أيضًا تنفيذ اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الفساد (UNCAC) عن طريق تعزيز الشراكات بين القطاعين العام والخاص في تطوير حلول مستدامة لمكافحة الفساد قائمة على تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات؛ إشراك الشباب وتشغيلهم؛ الابتكار والتكنولوجيا.

ستقوم لجنة التحكيم بتقييم إبداعاتك بناءً على المعايير التالية:

  • ما مدى تميز الفكرة ؛
  • مدى جودة تنفيذ الفكرة ؛
  • مدى ارتباط التقديم بالموضوعات والموضوع العام للهاكاثون ؛
  • ما مدى تغطية الجانب التعليمي من التقديم.
نوصي باتباع هذه الخطوات لمساعدتك في الحصول على أفضل فكرة:
  1. حدد موضوعًا أو أكثر تجده ممتعًا وتعتقد أنه غير مفهوم جيدًا وبالتالي يحتاج إلى مزيد من الاهتمام. كلما زاد شغفك بالموضوع ، زادت فرصتك في الحصول على فكرة مثيرة للاهتمام وفريدة من نوعها.
  2. تعرف على الموضوع جيدًا. قم ببحثك عن الموضوع (الموضوعات) المختار. إن أمكن ، ابدأ البحث قبل بدء الهاكاثون.
  3. لضمان تفرد فكرتك ، ابحث عن أنواع تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات الموجودة بالفعل والتي تتناول الموضوعات التي اخترتها لمشروعك.
  4. احصل على الإلهام من تقنيات مكافحة الفساد الأخرى التي تم تطويرها وتهدف إلى شيء جديد أو نسخة أفضل مما هو موجود بالفعل. فيما يلي بعض الأمثلة (هذه فقط لإعطائك فكرة عما يفعله الآخرون ، من فضلك لا تنسخهم):

لا ، لا يمكنك تعديل ما أرسلته بعد الضغط على زر الإرسال واستلام رسالة التأكيد. يمكنك التحدث مع فريق الدعم لحذف ما تم ارساله حتى تعيده إذا لزم الأمر.

طالما أنك لا تضغط على زر إرسال ، يمكنك الوصول إلى إرسالك وتعديله بقدر ما تحتاج حتى الموعد النهائي. هذا هو السبب في أننا نشجعك على عدم الإرسال حتى يصبح طلبك نهائيًا.

يجب على كل فريق تقديم مشروع واحد. لن يتم منح أي نقاط إضافية للطلبات الإضافية.

سيكون هناك فريق فائز واحد لكل دولة من الدول الخمس. سيتم إعلان الفائز في الهاكاثون الفريق الحاصل على أعلى الدرجات داخل كل دولة.

سيحصل جميع المشاركين على شهادة مشاركة. وسيحصل الفائزون - على مزيد من الدعم لتطوير الاختبار وتشغيل الحل التكنولوجي المحدد (إما في شكل دعم تقني و / أو تمويل أولي) من قبل المنظمات الشريكة في الهاكاثون. - حضور الدورة التاسعة لمؤتمر الدول الأطراف (COSP) في اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الفساد ، والتي ستعقد في شرم الشيخ ، مصر في ديسمبر 9. سيجمع COSP خبراء مكافحة الفساد من أكثر من 2021 دولة وسيخدم كفرصة رائعة للفرق الفائزة للترويج والحصول على مزيد من الدعم لتطوير الحلول القائمة على تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات. مزيد من المعلومات هنا.

سيتكلف مكتب الأمم المتحدة المعني بالمخدرات والجريمة بتكاليف السفر والإقامة للفرق الفائزة وفقًا لنظام وقواعد السفر الخاصة بالأمم المتحدة.

سيشارك كل من لجنة التحكيم الرسمية وجميع المشاركين في اختيار الفائزين. 50٪ من النقاط ستأتي من لجنة التحكيم و 50٪ من المشاركين. سيكون لكل مشارك إمكانية ترشيح أفضل فريق. لا يسمح للمشاركين بالتصويت لفريقهم.
تتمثل أهداف الهاكاثون في تعزيز استخدام تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات (ICT) لمنع الفساد ومكافحته في إفريقيا ومنح المطورين الشباب الفرصة لكي يتوصلوا إلى أفكار خاصة بهم حول كيفية مكافحة الفساد عن طريق استخدام التكنولوجيا. كما سيعزز التحدي أيضًا تنفيذ اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الفساد (UNCAC) عن طريق تعزيز الشراكات بين القطاعين العام والخاص في تطوير حلول مستدامة لمكافحة الفساد قائمة على تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات؛ إشراك الشباب وتشغيلهم؛ الابتكار والتكنولوجيا.
الفساد ظاهرة اجتماعية وسياسية واقتصادية معقدة تؤثر على جميع البلدان. يقوض الفساد المؤسسات الديمقراطية ، ويبطئ التنمية الاقتصادية ، ويسهم في عدم استقرار الحكومة. يهاجم الفساد أسس المؤسسات الديمقراطية من خلال تشويه العمليات الانتخابية ، وإفساد سيادة القانون ، وخلق مستنقعات بيروقراطية سببها الوحيد هو طلب الرشاوى. إن التنمية الاقتصادية معطلة بسبب عدم تشجيع الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر ، وغالبًا ما تجد الشركات الصغيرة داخل الدولة أنه من المستحيل التغلب على "تكاليف البدء" المطلوبة بسبب الفساد.
أفضل اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الفساد هي الصك العالمي الوحيد الملزم قانونًا لمكافحة الفساد. إن نهج الاتفاقية بعيد المدى والطابع الإلزامي للعديد من أحكامها يجعلانها أداة فريدة لتطوير استجابة شاملة لمشكلة عالمية مثل الفساد.

coding4integrity

African Youth Anti-Corruption Hackathon

The United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime is looking for the most talented coders to inspire us with their ideas on how tech can help fight corruption and advance peace, justice, and strong institutions!

Deadline to Apply: 27 September 2021

Days
Hours
Minutes
Seconds

About CODING4INTEGRITY

The African Youth Anti-Corruption Hackathon is a virtual 4 week technology challenge organized by the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) in partnership with private and public sector organizations in five African countries, namely Egypt, Kenya, Nigeria, Senegal and South Africa. The Objectives of the hackathon are to promote the use of information and communications technologies (ICT) to prevent and combat corruption in Africa and to give young developers the chance to come up with their own ideas on how to counter corruption through technologies. The challenge will also promote the implementation of the United Nations Convention Against Corruption (UNCAC) by enhancing public-private partnerships in the development of sustainable ICT-based anti-corruption solutions; youth engagement and employment; innovation and technology. The winning teams will have the opportunity to further develop their technology solutions with the support of the public sector partners of the hackathon that seek to increase the use of ICT solutions as part of their domestic anti-corruption efforts.

In particular, the hackathon seeks to deliver the following outcomes in the participating countries.

Increased advocacy and youth engagement in the fight against corruption

Increased youth employment, innovation and technology

Increased public-private
partnerships

Increased efficiency & effectiveness in public adminstration & service delivery

Increased transparency, accountability and accessibility to state and public services

Thematic Areas

The hackathon participants will be challenged to develop an ICT-based idea or solution that address one or more of the following themes:

Transparency in public administration, for instance, non-cash-based payments and traceability.

Transparency in public procurement and the administration of public finances.

Safe and reliable reporting of corruption (whistle-blowing promotion and protection).

Financial investigation solutions.

Other areas relevant to UNCAC.

Who we are looking for?

The hackathon is open to young creative people who:

Awards

The winning teams will be invited to present their projects and ideas to the Conference of State Parties to the United Nations Convention against Corruption (COSP), which will take place in Sharm El-Sheikh, Egypt in December 2021. The COSP will bring together anti-corruption experts from more than 180 countries and will serve as a great opportunity for the winning teams to promote and seek further support for the development of their ICT-based solutions.

UNODC will cover the travel and accommodation for the winning teams in accordance with the UN travel regulations.

How It Works

27

September

11

October

3

November

8

November

Applications Deadline

Interested participants fill an application form to participate in the hackathon by maximum September 27.

Hackathon Starts

Official Hackathon opening, welcoming participants and Q&A session with the hackathon organizers. Team formation starts aided by mentors.

Final Submissions

All teams make their final submissions on the submission platform. Teams submit their:

  • Project’s Github Repository Link
  • Pitch Deck Presentation of their Solution
  • 3-minute video demo of solution

Winners Announcement

Final winners announced, and all participants receive certificates of participation.

27

September

Applications Deadline

Interested participants fill an application form to participate in the hackathon by maximum September 27.

11

October

Hackathon Starts

Official Hackathon opening, welcoming participants and Q&A session with the hackathon organizers. Team formation starts aided by mentors.

3

November

Final Submissions

All teams make their final submissions on the submission platform. Teams submit their:

  • Project’s Github Repository Link
  • Pitch Deck Presentation of their Solution
  • 3-minute video demo of solution

8

November

Winners Announcement

Final winners announced, and all participants receive certificates of participation.

Mentorship, product development , ideation and technical webinars will be organized in the course of the hackathon.

Judging Criteria

JUDGES AND MENTORS

Our Partners

Regional Implementing Partners

Senegal

Kenya

Nigeria

Girl Voices Initiative

South Africa

Poinsed to strik

Egypt

Frequently Asked Questions

The hackathon is open to young creative people who: are between the age of 18 and 35; have basic coding skills and some experience with one or more development technologies; are nationals of Egypt, Kenya, Nigeria, Senegal and South Africa; have knowledge of Java, Javascript, C++, Python; are proficient in English; are passionate about using their tech skills to design digitally innovative solutions to promote integrity and tackle corruption in their countries.
Female candidates are particularly encouraged to apply for the hackathon.

Individuals or teams up to 4 members can apply. If you are an individual looking for a team, or a team looking to complete their needed skills, we encourage you to apply and we are going to help you find teammates.

Yes, the hackathon will be held in full virtual mode due to constraining COVID-19 limitations.

Your idea has to fall under one of the 5 thematic areas:

i. Transparency in public administration, for instance, non-cash-based payments and traceability.

ii. Transparency in public procurement and the administration of public finances.

iii. Safe and reliable reporting (whistle-blowing promotion and protection).

iv. Financial investigation solutions.

v. Other areas relevant to UNCAC: UNCAC covers four main areas, namely preventive measures, criminalization and law enforcement, international cooperation, and asset recovery.

Each team will work in one of the following tracks based on the type of technology that the team will

create:

Track 1: Blockchain Dapp developing

Track 2: AI developing

Track 3: Web 2.0 developing

The prerequisite for taking part in the hackathon is to possess some basic programming skills. But no one expects you to be a seasoned coder in order to develop your idea. However, to impress the jury and maximize your chances to win the hackathon, we encourage you to level up your coding skills in preparation for the hackathon. This will allow you to spend less time at the event on learning how to code (which isn’t bad, as hackathons are also about learning new stuff), but instead, you will have more time to develop your ideas and skills. It will be important to build skills in one of the following coding languages: Java, Javascript, Python or C++. Other possible languages include Go, Rust, Ruby on Rails, Solidity (for blockchain apps). Resources are provided in the hyperlinks.

The objectives of the hackathon are to promote the use of information and communications technologies (ICT) to prevent and combat corruption in Africa and to give young developers the chance to come up with their own ideas on how to counter corruption through technologies. The challenge will also promote the implementation of the United Nations Convention Against Corruption (UNCAC) by enhancing public-private partnerships in the development of sustainable ICT-based anti-corruption solutions; youth engagement and employment; innovation and technology.

The jury will be evaluating your creations based on the following criteria:

  • How unique the idea is;
  • How well the idea was implemented;
  • How closely the submission relates to the topics and overall theme of the hackathon;
  • How well-covered the educational aspect of the submission is.
We recommend that you follow these steps to help you get the best idea:
  1. Identify one or more topics that you find interesting and that you believe are not well understood and therefore need more attention. The more passionate you are about the topic, the higher your chance is to end up with an interesting and unique idea.
  2. Get to know the topic very well. Do your research on the chosen topic(s). If possible, start your research prior to the start of the hackathon.
  3. To ensure uniqueness of your idea, research what kinds of ICT already exist that address the topics you have chosen for your project.
  4. Get inspired by other anti-corruption technologies that have been developed and aim for something that is either new or a better version of what’s already out there. Below are some examples (they are solely for giving you an idea on what other people are doing, please don’t copy them):

No, you cannot edit your submission after you have pressed the submit button and received the confirmation message. You can chat with support though to delete your submission for you so that you redo it if necessary.

As long as you don’t press the Submit button, you can access and edit your submission as many times as you need until the deadline. This is why we encourage you to not submit until your application is final.

Each team shall submit one project. No extra points will be awarded for additional submissions.

There will be one winning team per each of the five countries. The team with the highest score within each country will be pronounced the winner of the hackathon.

All participants will receive a certificate of participation. And winners will – Receive further support to develop test and make operational the identified tech solution (either in form of tech support and/or seed funding) by the partner organizations of the hackathon. – Attend the 9th session of the Conference of the States Parties (COSP) to UNCAC, which will take place in Sharm El-Sheikh, Egypt in December 2021. The COSP will bring together anti-corruption experts from more than 180 countries and will serve as a great opportunity for the winning teams to promote and seek further support for the development of their ICT-based solutions. More info here.

UNODC will cover the travel and accommodation for the winning teams in accordance with the UN travel regulations.

Both the official jury and all the participants will participate in the selection of the winners. 50% of the points will come from the jury and 50% from the participants. Each participant will have the possibility to nominate the best team. Participants are not allowed to vote for their own team.
The objectives of the hackathon are to promote the use of information and communications technologies (ICT) to prevent and combat corruption in Africa and to give young developers the chance to come up with their own ideas on how to counter corruption through technologies. The challenge will also promote the implementation of the United Nations Convention Against Corruption (UNCAC) by enhancing public-private partnerships in the development of sustainable ICT-based anti-corruption solutions; youth engagement and employment; innovation and technology.
Corruption is a complex social, political and economic phenomenon that affects all countries. Corruption undermines democratic institutions, slows economic development, and contributes to governmental instability. Corruption attacks the foundation of democratic institutions by distorting electoral processes, perverting the rule of law, and creating bureaucratic quagmires whose only reason for existing is the soliciting of bribes. Economic development is stunted because foreign direct investment is discouraged and small businesses within the country often find it impossible to overcome the “start-up costs” required because of corruption.
The United Nations Convention against Corruption (UNCAC) is the only global legally binding anti-corruption instrument. The Convention’s far-reaching approach and the mandatory character of many of its provisions make it a unique tool for developing a comprehensive response to a global problem such as corruption.